Can I canoe?

As a lot of you know, I live in Canada now. For the past 5 (!) months I’ve been trying my best to dive head first into Canadian culture; feasting on poutine and beavertails, ending every other sentences with ‘eh’, trying to find new ways to apologize for something I shouldn’t be apologizing for and I’ve even briefly considered buying milk in a bag (not quite Canadian enough/ready for it). Thanks to some awesome people I even had a big Canadian birthdayparty!

Another aspect of Canadian culture is the canoe. Which for me was, until recently, that boaty thing that looks like a kayak but isn’t a kayak. And also, the rowing sticks have only one flat bit instead of two!
So you could say I’m a bit of a newcomer to the paddling-scene. My family has never been a water sports kind of family. It’s not that we don’t like it it’s just that it’s not that popular here and there’s just not a lot of opportunity for it in our area. And when we do make an effort to have a paddling day out, things like this happen:

382549_10151458287001755_1951802106_n

No brothers or kayaks were injured during the making of this image.

So yeah, total canoob (GET IT?) over here! I’m about to change that though, and I’ll do it in the best way I can imagine. This summer I will be working on a film that tells the amazing story of the canoe and its role in North-American culture in the past, present and future. We will be paddling our way through the beautiful wilderness Ontario and Quebec have to offer (that’s right Yukon, NWT, Alberta and BC, you’re not the only ones with nice lakes and pretty views!), camping along the way, meeting with some interesting people who have been a major influence in the world of canoe and who’s world has been majorly influenced by canoes.

Yours truly has the amazing opportunity to not only spend the summer canoeing and exploring this amazing country (dream come true) but also to share this experience with a super cool and motivated team and capture it and share it with the world. (even more dreams coming truer!).

BUT

As with lots of things in this world, this project costs money. And as I’m trying my best to win the Tim Horton’s Roll Up The Rim $5000 Visa Card by drinking 17 coffees a day (and I don’t even really like coffee), help is most welcome and appreciated. We’ve already got some awesome sponsors helping us out with equipment and advertising our film. But, in the words of the famous Mr. Tesco: “Every Little Helps”. (Subtly hoping for some sponsorship right there.)

Sponsors

Sponsor-coolness

SO

Please check out our

IndiegogoCampaign

Watch the video (and try not to laugh at my sweet sweet West-East-Flemish-Dutch accent) and if you feel like it, support us with a little something. Even if it’s only $10 (for my European friends, that’s only €6,5! – For my UK friends, that’s only £5.4!) it will make a difference for us and help us make this project even better!

AND

If we make our goal, I might do something crazy like get our logo tattooed*. Or if you donate enough and have a nice logo, get YOUR logo tattooed*. Or if I don’t know what exactly, but I do know it will be cool and you will want to see it.

Thankyou

#YESWECANOE

*By tattooed I might mean draw it on with a sharpie.

About jasmijndecuyper

Photography.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. INKREDIBLE!! | Jasmijn Decuyper - April 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

